There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

One can see that there is a rising trend for estimation of student’s performansce in the form of examination rather than constant assessment. I think that the positive side of examinations is their variability and independence on subjective opinions, while the main drawback is the fact that the luck of test-takers plays a significant role.

On the one hand, the exam paper might be created absolutely randomly with the help of a computer system. This will help a teacher to possess a number of randomly-generated test variations, which increases the uniformity of hardness of tests. Moreover, such a system allows a professor to check the work without names, so that a teacher will be absolutely impartial in the assessment of students’ effectiveness. For instance, the Moscow State University has recently developed the electronic appraisal system which generates tests for the student of the faculty of physics and checks work independently.

On the other hand, there might be some outlying test in terms of difficulty. In fact, some test variants are almost bound to be arduous in order to stimulate students to prepare harder, so that a pupil who gets such a test might obtain a very bad mark. However, no amendment is made in the scoring system based on the difficulty. Nonetheless, an educator might easily exclude (or just not create) such a test or change the scoring points in this specific situation. For example, the IELTS center generates tests randomly, and exceptionally tough of them are deleted from the system entirely.

In conclusion, the examination of students might not be the worst system to check students work, since it has an array of upsides (randomness and independence), while downsides (composed hard tests) may be alleviated.