These days many children spend a lot of their time playing computer games but little time doing sports.

Why is this?

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today's modern society, it is evident that there is a declining rate of children of children participating in sports activities, while more and more of them choose to play video games. This essay will discuss several reasons for this phenomenon and will also state why I strongly believe that this situation has many negative outcomes for children and society.

To begin, the first cause is urbanization. The lack of working opportunities in villages have lead the vast majority of the world to abandon them and live in cities. It could be argued that this has benefits, however, traffic, increased criminality, and generally a less safe environment prevents the parents to let their children outside to play sports. Doing sports, from my perspective, is not only being a member of a football or a basketball team for example but also just play with friends during the afternoons. Thus, it is safer, according to their parents to play video games inside a house. Unfortunately, empty stadiums are very common.

Despite these facts, video games have several negative effects on teenagers. Most of these games include violent content which affects their personality and make them more aggressive. Several examples could be given of students entering schools holding guns because they saw it happens in games. Also, according to new researches, nearly 60% of addicted to computer games children may become eventually psychopaths or develop another psychological disorder.

To conclude, the need for money made people live in cities. However, cities are not a great environment to raise a child. Although, all together we have to find solutions and eventually pull out the children from virtual reality, which alters their personality.