Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today's modern world, the declining health of the population has been a major concern, resulting in several debates on who should be responsible to prevent it. Some people believe that each member of the society should take care of its own health, while others that it should be governments action to maintain their nationals health and diet. This essay will discuss both views and will also state will I strongly believe that it is individuals action, however, the authorities have an essential role in it.

To begin, there is no doubt that it is a completely personal decision to follow a healthy way of life and a diet. Mature adults have the ability to avoid unhealthy junk food and prevent the youngers to eat them. However, it is evident that, unfortunately, the opposite happens. For instance, the vast majority of the population smoke numerous cigarettes daily, while the child obesity has increased by 45% during the last few decades.

That is why a part of the population claims that the government's involvement in public health is essential. Despite that, the authorities can not force the public to follow a more strict health life, because then they would violate the primary role of democracy. However, with several small actions can show them the negative consequences of their decisions. For instance, commercial spots on public TV channels and the radio to inform everyone regarding the harmful effects of smoking could alarm the smokers.

To conclude, definitely each person is responsible for its own health, but the role of the government to guide people to healthier living conditions is very important.