These days people in some countries are living in a “throw-away” society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away.

What are the causes and problems?

Nowadays, most people tends to use things only in a short time and then throws it away easier in some nations. In this essay, I will examine the reasons why our society has changed in this way and also the negative effects from this situation.

Many possible causes of throw-away society can be identified. First, there are many substitution products with a low switching cost to buy a new thing. Due to a lower barrier to entry in some market, there is a high competition among players leading to a variety of products with a competitive price. As a result, consumers have more choices in buying and spend less time when they make a decision to buy new things for replacing the existing one. In addition, the technology and fashion have changed rapidly resulting in a fast growing in new product development appealing people to buy these new products. The advancement in technology can be used in inventing new products and knowhow which give a rise to better standard and new product features. Accordingly, it might be a good motivation for some people to purchase a new thing as it provides higher qualifications.

On the other hand, there are several impacts of being in a throw-away society. For one thing, the environmental problems from a short usage of goods can be occurred from a lack of waste disposal process. If people leave their belongings easily and it is out of control of the government, there are many rubbish spread out around our city. Moreover, the household debt may rise considerably than it should be. Since people has been motivated for spending in a new things despite their existing one is not worn out, they might have a new liability for purchasing these new things.

In conclusion, there are many causes contribute to a throw-away lifestyle of people in this recent year which in my opinion I think it is mainly a result of a low switching cost in having a new product. As for its effects, there are various negative impacts including the environmental problems and household’s debt issue.