The threat of nuclear weapons maintains the world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far out-weight the disadvantages.

It is often argued that nuclear weapons keep the world peace and that nuclear energy is an inexpensive and environmentally friendly source of power. This essay totally disagrees that these benefits outweigh the damaging potential of nuclear power.

First and foremost, nuclear energy is not as clean as it is considered, but . It produces more harmful pollutants than fossil fuels. Nuclear reactors work on fission process where uranium atoms are bombarded by slow electrons to produce energy. As a result of this reaction, a huge amount of heat is produced along with uranium waste remains which is are highly reactive and emits cancer-causing rays. For instance, according to the nuclear research association, if a nuclear waste produced from fission of five-gram uranium is disposed of in an open environment, it could can cause skin cancer to the whole population living in fifty-kilometer radius. Therefore, scientists are working to dump nuclear waste underground so that its harmful effects can be controlled.

Furhermore, the idea that nuclear fission is a clean source of energy has been dispelled by numerous tragic accidents at nuclear power stations. These disasters show just how harmful and long lasting a leak of nuclear material can be and the contamination is not worth it when other sources of energy are available. For example, the Fukushima disaster has polluted huge parts of the Pacific Ocean and it has been reported that fish as far away as California have dangerous levels of radiation. Therefore, solar and wind energy should replace nuclear energy tomorrow, for avoiding hazardous disasters in future.

In conclusion, this essay disagrees with the opinion that nuclear technology is beneficial rather than dangerous because the consequences of using nuclear energy in the wrong way are so catastrophic to both human and the Earth itself.