Today family members do not eat meals together. Why? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

While in the previous period, sitting together and having meals was an essential part for every family’s members to discuss incidents that happened, nowadays young generations have a tendency not to maintain this culture anymore. Personally, this development is negative in the majority of aspects which have extremely threatened the family's relationship.

It is clear that not having meals together would bring about various drawbacks for a list of reasons. Most notably, the cohesion between family members would deteriorate. First of all, in particular, parents do not have circumstances to keep track of their children’s conditions, physically and mentally. In modern days, the ongoing expansion of the Internet promotes such a technological life, which can be a risk. Teenagers, with a range of occasions to access the Internet, can easily be led to dangerous situations. Moreover, without parents’ caringness, teenagers do not have the ability to get out of this danger.

Secondly, having meals separately establishes an isolation-thought in their minds. In other words, doing so can damage teenagers’ confidence and weaken the emotional bond with each other, particularly in young generations. Little by little, it poses immense psychological issues to their children when they do not acquire appropriate care. Moreover, children gradually prefer to have their meals alone, even in a social context. As a result, they will struggle to encounter opportunities to expand their social circle, keep track of both inside and outside information, or improve their chances of promotion, which is really gainful in work environments.

In conclusion, not having meals together can totally promise detrimental effects, especially children. Humans’ connection and mental health, which should be specially concerned in teenagers’ growing progress, can be deteriorated intensely.