Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extend do you agree or disagree.

In the modern society where the success of all businesses is strongly dependent on their marketing strategy, it is said that the large sales of popular consumer goods prove the efficiency of advertising but do not actually serve the real needs of the customers. As a customer, I partly agree with this statement.

The advertising contains a lot of exaggeration and manipulation of pictures and words, which mainly aims for the purchase of the customers and not their needs. For instance, consumers tend to buy unnecessities from an online store due to the review made by key opinion leaders. It is easy to realize that we see multiple advertisements of multiple products on social media every day and sometimes we fall into them just because they fit our eyes.

However, it is unable to deny the power of marketing tools on social media as they have always been successfully helping the customers with their shopping. In the past, the customers spent too much time finding the products fit with their needs or their budgets. In contrast, the modern shoppers go online taking a look at advertisements and then approach the goods they want to buy immediately. Moreover, thanks to advertising industry which develops fast, the consumers can compare and contrast the functions, the policy of customer care and certainly the prices of a product made from different brands. Hence, it can be said that the ads force the buyers to become wiser.

In conclusion, the strength of marketing is irrefutable, and the advertisements might be sometimes irrelevant to our needs due to the purpose of the sellers and the marketing department. However, it is still our choice to be a smart buyer or to fall for the tricks of advertising.