Today, high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of society in which they are sold.To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In general, people tend to demand something. Demands are not just categorized as fundamental physiological needs but also as spiritual too. For example; people want shelter, food, water which are basic needs, after providing those may want things better than oneself. These things could be money, home, car, job, dress etc.

Advertising and marketing are important features for selling goods. Imagine, you are watching a film at the cinema. Before showing the film, some advertisements are being shown on the screen. This may be a promo of film or a beverage advertising. As long as watching them, advertisements can manipulate your choices.

Manipulation has always been our lives. For example; in the cosmetic industry, lots of advertisements are displayed on TV, on billboards even on social media. They promise to conceal our flaws to make us more beautiful. Then people begin to obtain that product whatever its cost. Then takes another, another and so on. Everybody has flaws, so who has not? However, I want to stress a point that the majority of advertisements show us our fault, need or deficiency. That triggered us to buy this "miracle" products. Shopping may give you more pleasure than the products. People are getting more demanding and tend to become addicted.

People have seen something which others have and say why I do not or I have to get this, either. In order to satisfy our urges, we always buy a product even it is useless. I think advertising companies do their best efforts to make more appealing products. For these reasons, I should say that we must stop the consuming madness and alter our habits.