Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertisements, in any form, are influencing the buying habits of the consumers. Nowadays, instead of purchasing an article for need, people are buying them under the influence of a targeted advertising campaign. I completely agree with this opinion, and In this essay, I will discuss about the influence of marketing over sales of consumer items, its merits, and demerits.

To begin with, there is no doubt that advertisements significantly affect the sales of consumables, primarily by introducing newer, and better options to the buyers. For example, only due to effective marketing campaigns, people come to know about the advantages of smart televisions over conventional TVs. If such advertisements, were not have been available, consumers would have bought an older technology, by paying almost equal price. This could have resulted into wastage of money and lower satisfaction levels.

However, there are side-effects of these commercials too, as they influence the consumers to buy something, even if there is no actual need for that. This is because, these advertisements are strategically designed to create a false need among people. For instance, it is the power of smart marketing, that motivates us to buy a newer generation iPhone every year, even though, there are minimal upgrades in the specifications. This results in over-expenditure and sub-optimal utilization of financial resources on the part of buyers. In contrast, if we buy according to our needs, we will surely have surplus money to spend on more vital needs.

In conclusion, although advertisements educate us about recent and better products available in the market, they also create a pseudo sense of desire to buy unnecessary things within ourselves.