Today, the high sales of popular goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the phenomenon of advertisement’s power and its corresponding impacts have sparked a long-running dispute. In this regard, apart from ever-increasing sales of goods due to enormous advertisements, some people are of the opinion that we shouldn’t lose sight of societies’ true needs. In my mind, skyrocketing the sales of popular items is the manifestation of ads’ power, in terms of ubiquitous and psychological effects.

Obviously, the most impressive aspect of advertising, in today’s modern communities, is its ubiquity. Commercial ads exist wherever you might thick, like TV programs, Internet, social networks, and even in the sky! Consequently, ubiquity of advertisements paves the way to persuade loads of people to purchase commodities, whether they really need those items or not. It brings a significant rise for sales.

What’s more, advertisement companies aim to arouse individuals, particularly adolescence, emotions. Hence, millions of teenagers would feel they need to acquire such items as celebrities my offer them in ads. Meanwhile, according to researchers’ findings, huge amount of international firms’ budget spends on advertising rather than improving the quality of products or R&D and so it is an obvious indicator of their advertising machines’ power all around the four corners of the globe.

On the other hand, opponents claim that nowadays, over-advertising leads to spread of consumerism across the society. Remarkable number of individuals pay their hard-earned money to buy such goods which it is more likely that they don’t read their manuals even once. In addition, being a consumerist put a colossal burden on shoulders of societies as well as family’s expenditures and natural sources.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments about the power of ads, I opt to support vigorously the idea that its strength eventually ends up to promote sales’ figures. Advertising department of firms obey an apparently simple rule: out of sight, out of mind.