Today more and more people are using mobile phones and computers. Thus, people are losing the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that modern communication devices such as mobile phones and computers are becoming increasingly popular. While I accept that such devices play a vital role in many aspects of life, I also believe that face-to-face communication can be negatively impacted as a result of over-using these devices or using them in an improper way.

On the one hand, it is apparent that smartphones, tablets and computers can greatly facilitate the communication process. Firstly, the internet can provide a support platform to users in a broad range of areas. For example, in addition to traditional teaching methods, teachers can instruct their students through online lectures, streamed live via some applications such as Skype or Facebook. Secondly, cell phones and computers, like a bridge, can connect people from different countries without the need for them to travel across the world. In recent years, the popularity of social networking sites has made the establishment of personal or business relationships easier and more convenient.

On the other hand, portable phones and computers cause a breakdown of physical communication among people. The first reason is that such devices are highly addictive, and they draw much of the users’ attention, so they will spend less time talking directly with their friends or relatives. Many adolescents, for instance, sit with or near each others, but they only concentrate on surfing the Web, typing Facebook comments, or chatting with others via Zalo, Skype, and other apps. Another reason is that users of such devices are into the virtual world of the internet and distracted from the real world very often. As a result, they can chat or share stories via online social networks, but they have inadequate confidence when they attempt a real face-to-face conversation.