Today the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. Discuss the causes and suggest solutions.

Some people believe that urban dwellers do not enjoy good quality of life. Anecdotal evidence shows that city life is stressful to mankind and depression is rampant in the overcrowded cities.

The most prominent reason behind this is that interaction among the urban people is on the fall. They often fail to communicate effectively with their neighbors and friends, which in turn creates a sense of insecurity among individuals. Each and every person is living in their own isolated virtual world, unable to share their feelings and emotions or exude empathy towards each other, creating far reaching repercussions. For instance, children dwelling in cities are prone to depression, when compared to village children. Hence it is clear that the rampant lack of communication among people in overcrowded cities is the rudimentary reason behind the decrease in quality of their life. Urban dwellers also have to cope with several other issues like pollution, traffic congestion and higher cost of living. Pollution increases their risk of developing various illnesses and even reduces their longevity.

There are several solutions to this problem. Making urban areas less congested by improving employment opportunities in rural areas is one of them. It is also important to improve interaction between people. Regular social occasions, events or games can be arranged by the like-minded groups to encourage people to socialize. Such platforms must be made available to the public so that they can share their feelings and engage in teamwork. Thus they can reduce the stress of city life and improve its quality.

To sum up, even though modern facilities are readily available in urban regions, quality and moral standards of life are deteriorating rapidly due to a variety of reasons. However, these problems can be solved to a great extent if the government and the residents take concerted action.