Employers should give their workers at least one month holiday a year as it makes them to do better at their job.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that in order to improve work efficiency, employees should be given one month break from work. In my opinion, while I believe that getting off from work is important for everyone, there are several positions in many organizations for which one month break is not possible. In these cases, staffs should be given another means to relax.

One of the primary reasons for getting leave from work is to improve productivity. It is natural that people cannot work throughout the year without any break. In contrast, by taking a vacation, they feel refreshed and get a change from their monotonous work life. This, in turn, helps them to concentrate and do better when they come back on duty. This is even confirmed in a recent survey by Harvard business school where those participants who took regular breaks from their work were observed more productive than their counterparts. Thus, it is beneficial to take some time off the work.

However, in most of the organizations, there are people who are playing specific roles and cannot take a continuous break from the work. Take, for example, quality control head of a furniture manufacturing company, he has to remain on site during the production hours. If he is on leave and quality is compromised, then the company has to bear a heavy loss. Therefore, people in such positions cannot afford to take a long vacation. In such cases, these people should be given chance to take a small break for which cost would be bared by the company. They should be sent on small company-sponsored trips to popular destinations.

In conclusion, although it is important for employees to take breaks from their work in order to increase their performance, people playing certain roles cannot afford a long vacation.