As more and more students enter universities, academic qualifications are becoming devalued. To get ahead in many professions, more than one degree is now required and in future it is likely that people will take a number of degree courses before even starting work. This is an undesirable situation.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With an increasing number of students opting for higher education, it is now no more seen as highly valued. It is often perceived that people would get multiple degrees before starting their professional life which is not desired. In my opinion, several professions do require people to take multiple courses before they start working, whereas in other occupations experience is more important.

There are numerous professions that enforce students to take multiple degrees before starting their career. These courses train them to get in-depth knowledge of most situations that they may encounter while working. This is desired to get rid of any difficult situation. For example, in the medical field, doctors do not start working after graduation, but they do specialization and in many cases even super specialization. This is because it helps them to gain expert level knowledge using which they can treat patients without putting their life at risk. Thus, it is the demand of the profession that encourages people to enroll in several courses.

However, in other professions such as construction or carpentry, skill and experience are more important than qualification. For example, the tradesman, having no degree, but good experience in producing stunning furniture is more valued in the market. Therefore, it is rather obvious that instead of getting multiple degrees, one should get practical knowledge and experience for better career prospects.

In conclusion, in some occupations such as medical getting multiple degrees is more important in order to perform better in later stages of a career, whereas in other professions, skills are more important than qualification.