As more and more students enter universities, academic qualifications are becoming devalued. To get ahead in many professions, more than one degree is now required and in future it is likely that people will take a number of degree courses before even starting work. This is an undesirable situation.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As technology is evolving the system process of business is also evolving along side with lots of requirements therefore a need for more knowledge that is of various subjects is becoming a necessary these days. I disagree that degrees are turning into no value and also it is an undesirable situation, though there is time loss for the young generation to indulge more in academics before they could bag an actual job.

In one hand, it is a added stress to the young minds or fresher to obtain jobs. It also counts the extent of financial support that they become a burden to their parents or to themselves if they have to live financially independent. In China it has become a trend for a young generation to acquire degrees in 2 different subjects for the last 5 years as job requirements are as such.

On the other, having degrees in more than 2 subjects enables an individual to choose wide options in job search. For example in a mining industry the requirement of geophysicist along with reservoir engineering has become common. Also in a statistics institution you generally require knowledge in finance and strategy to be successful. A candidate with more than 2 degrees in different subjects will be able to have more control on work due to his / her knowledge capabilities.

To conclude, knowledge attained is never a waste or less value. Valuation of degree shouldn't be based on the availability of jobs or the monetary benefits it could bring. As we are advancing into high technology it is natural that we need to have more knowledge otherwise called as many degrees. Therefore, I disagree with the conception of qualifications becoming devalued and it is an undesirable situation.