Too much money is spending on repairing old buildings instead of knocking them down and building new ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays in all most all the cities, we can see new buildings with new futuristic designs are built. Some argue that, instead of maintaining an old building, building a new will prevent spending too much money. I agree to the statement and this essay will discuss why it is more relevant to the current time.

First of all, while building it new, we can build that building to be future proof by using improved materials and also with the same cost and a design to match the current population demands. Furthermore, it will be more secure and use less space than older buildings. For an example, most of the older buildings like houses have one or two levels above with limited space, while a new building can hold more people in less land space so it will be more efficient.

Secondly, comparing to the newest designs, older ones structural integrity is compromised over the years and because of that it is more unsecure. Although there are some old buildings that have more historical values, most of them are taken up more land space than a normal design. Hence it is hard to maintain and repair and needs to spend more money than a new design house. Moreover, comparing to the new buildings, adaptation to the new technology and easy repair will be impossible in cost wise.

In conclusion, I agree that instead of spending too much money on renovating old buildings, building new ones will be the better and cost effective solution.