The top priority of businesses is making money, and they do not need to have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The apex purpose of businesses is making wealth and enrich people’s life. Henceforth, there is a debatable statement that they have rights to neglect social obligations. My opinion is that this notion is wrong in this day and age, as there are many collective duties that they must enroll in.

I accept that the primacy of any companies is making profits to survive in this competitive world. They have to have a virtuous financial background to run their costs, as well as invest in new technologies and innovations to acquire advantages over their opponents. Enterprises, therefore, set goals to maximize their productivity and, however, pollute the environment by discharging untreated directly to the air, earth, and water. Some make up for it, but others ignore because of their thought that protecting their surroundings is not their duty. That critical thinking should be discarded, as lasting profits must be accompanied by clean environment.

Besides environmental obligations, businesses ought to possess other fundamental duties. Firstly, they must ensure their employees’ living conditions by regularly raising their wages or constructing accommodations. By doing so, not only do they indicate responsibility to the public, but they also have a chance to boost their productivity as well. Next, they should sponsor and participate in humanitarian activities to share their sympathy with the disabled and those who are in difficult circumstance. Regularly paying taxes to the authorities is another rule they must follow.

In conclusion, although making profits in businesses is a must, I believe the opinion of disregarding their communal liabilities must be removed.