Today, TV channels broadcast man’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal showtime for women’s sport and men’s sport?

There is no doubt that sport shows are being televised by a myriad of TV channels in every country. However, sports with men’s participants are more likely to be shown than women’s ones. This fact results from some major reasons and broadcasters should give an equivalent showtime for sports of both genders.

Men’s sports are dominating women’s sports programs because of their spectators and viewers. One major habit of men is watching sport events, therefore TV channels produce more sports to increase their rating and profits. For instance, it is common to come across a group of men watching football or baseball in a pub or a coffee shop, while there is a small number of women who share the same routine. Besides, men’s competitions are much more intense than those for women, and male athletes often break records and create spectacular moments, which leads to an actuality that watching men’s sport is more thrilling.

However, I support the thought that women’s sports should be provided with an equal time with men’s. First, it creates gender equality not only in sports but also in other aspects of society. In fact, women’s sport competitions are the proper materials to inspirational stories, with the inner meaning that women are able to do what men can. Secondly, if more women’s sports programs in major competitions like Olympics or Women’s World Cup are produced and broadcast, female athletes will also taste the proud feeling of representing their nations, which motivates them to show out their best performances and bring victories for their homelands.

In conclusion, aforementioned reasons for not enough coverage for women’s sports programs should be turned into solutions to develop equality in both genders’ sports.