Topic: Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems.
Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals
can tackle these problems.
These days, people are tending to move to live in the metropolis thus leading to
overpopulation, especially in urban. Overpopulation of urban areas, therefore, is one of
the most pressing issues that governments are trying to find effective solutions to tackle.
The exponential population growth indirectly causes traffic congestion. Traffic
congestion can be a consequence of the traditional work shift patterns, usually, from
Monday to Friday, from 9 am to 5 pm. In this time, the commuters enter the roadway
simultaneously, causing rush hour. For example, the comfortable living conditions in
the big cities make rural people move to live so that they can improve their life.
However, the more population is increasing, the worse traffic is getting. In the 90s, there
are many wide and large paths in Hanoi. Nonetheless, after urbanization, roads are
more and more crowded and congested. Overpopulation also causes an increase in the
cost of living in urban areas. As the number of the population increase, the demand for
accommodation further rises. Therefore, most of the costs will increase and even
numerous low-income people do not have the ability to pay their own and family's living
expenses. For example, nowadays, there are many poor workers in Hanoi who cannot
have a comfortable and fulfilling life because the cost of living is expensive in the city.
The solution to these problems is that the government should raise the living standard
of the rural population and improve the infrastructure in rural areas as well. Accordingly,
people do not have to migrate to make a living in the metropolis as well as we can limit
the traffic jam. Moreover, the government needs to enact the one-child policy to restrict
population growth.
Overall, population growth will have a negative impact on people's life if the government
does not rapidly act to resolve this problem.