Do you agree that it is better to work for business owned by someone else than to work for the business of one's own family.

The business is so important to our career. It is where we spent time to give our strength. Some people believed that it is better to work for the company owned by someone else, while others stated that they want to work for the family company. In my view, I agree that it is better to work for a business owned by someone else than to work the business of one's own family for two reasons.

The main reason is that it is difficult to criticize the employee who is your relative or family member. If you work with your relatives or member of your family, you will tend to respect your relatives and could not pick on them when they do the wrong things. For example, when I have worked for my aunt's company, I have to manage a sales team. The team has six people and one of them is my aunt's daughter, whose name is Laura. On the day, we did a project, but Laura did not anything. She went to work late, most of the time she played a video game and chatted with her friend, thereby she can not send me her part of the project. When we had a meeting, I criticize her before all the members of the team. Laura, therefore, told to her mother that I humiliated before many people. My aunt was really angry and dismissed me from the team. Furthermore, her daughter, Laura was chosen for the leadership of the team As you can see, sometimes there is no fairness in the family company.

Another reason is that sometimes your opinions could not take seriously. Some of your relatives do not want you to intervene to the strategy of the development company. If you give some strategies for your company, they immediately reject it. For instance, when I worked for my cousin’s law firm, I pitched my project which about the development path for the firm. Though she said that my project was really good, after that I heard from my colleagues that my project was eradicated. Instead of my project, my cousin chose her project for law firm. This experience taught me that in a business owned by someone else, you could be taken seriously.

In sum, though many people like working in the family business because of comfortable, with me the business run by someone else is better. Not only will you feel free to give the opinion but also you can be more appreciated. You should choose to work in a business owned by someone else.