Topic: Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the opinion that academic subjects should take precedence over cooking, dressing, or other practical life skills. I somewhat agree with this point of view because academic degrees are of importance when regarding future careers, but soft skills are also vital and need to be educated.

Advocates of this perspective point out a host of reasons. First and foremost, if students solely focus on core subjects at school, they may pass exams with flying colors, which would give them a competitive edge after graduate and looking for a good job. To illustrate, many big entrepreneurs in Vietnam, put great emphasis on certificates and often prioritize applicants who have high academic results. Another compelling reason is that studying formal lessons at schools requires plenty of time to help students have a clear understanding of what they have learned and how to use that knowledge in an actual work setting. Key subjects, thereby, should be concentrated on more than any other skills.

However, I would argue that we should encourage educational institutions to teach life skills such as cooking or dressing too. The main supporting reason is that the underestimating practical activities in school is to blame for lacking basic skills in students, which can lead to many consequences in their later life. It is exemplified by many cases, in which individuals find it hard to live without parents when they have started getting into university owing to poor cooking skills. Furthermore, in the increasingly competitive job market, employers not only looking for candidates with good school records but also appropriate those being proficient at life skills.

In conclusion, in spite of the tremendous merits of academic education, we should also take real experience into account to become more comprehensive and independent.