Tourism has increased over the last 50 years that is having a negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment however that is good for the economy discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

The tourist industry has significantly grown during the last five decades. Even though people have different views about the effects of this trend on host countries' environment and economy, in my opinion, having some minor environmental problems, tourism can bring undeniable economic advantages for visited places.

Admittedly, there are some disadvantages for destination countries' inhabitants to be visited by many people today. Firstly, it could deteriorate the quality of these area's air. Many public and private transports used by tourists would release a vast amount of damaging pollutants and toxic gases into the air. A recent study illustrates that Istanbul's quality air index, as a tourist attraction place, has become less compared to 50 years ago. Secondly, vast heaps of garbage and unprocessed waste, produced by holidaymakers and left into natural habitats, could be dangerous for wildlife. Take plastic as an example; this non-degradable material would put creatures' lives in jeopardy if it were eaten by them.

Nevertheless, despite the drawbacks above, I believe that the growing sightseers' population has considerable merits for the local economy. One crucial upside would be that it enhances the employ ability rate. In other words, the more visitors, the more job opportunities in accommodation and transportation units could be created. This would be more highlighted in those countries such as Turkey, which a large group of people is working in tourism-related professions. Another positive aspect is that using the taxes earned from the flourishing tourist industry; the local governments would be able to build or renovate some infrastructures like roads and railways. This, in turn, could provide countries with economic growth through much more convenient transportation.

In conclusion, I believe that the financial benefits tourist attraction regions can gain through tourism progression outweigh any unfavorable environmental impacts that would be inevitable.