Traditional holidays are getting more and more unpopular among the young generations.”

Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

OR: what extent do you agree/disagree with the statement? Give specific reasons and examples for your argument so that any non-experts in the matter can understand that.

Culture is not only referred as the way of life by a community or a society, but also become a symbol of each country in the world. However, it is said that young people are showing less interest in traditional holidays of their own culture. Personally, I completely agree with the statement for nowadays, technology breakthrough has significantly affected the young and the awareness of traditional holidays is less concerned in most young generation as well.

First of all, development in technology has deeply cultural impacts with countries in the world nowadays. As the result, people can relax and entertain easily in daily life, instead of waiting for traditional holidays. It is in Hanoi of Vietnam, there are many entertainment activities during the weekend, including music concerts, sport activities and even folk games at HoGuom Lake, so it is almost easy for every Hanoians to relax and to be amused. In addition, a lot of people prefer to work in these holidays for earning more money. For example, in Vietnam, Tet Holiday is not concerned as much as before when more and more people have concerned about how much money they can generate during Tet Holiday, rather than enjoying the holiday. In contrast, many people who have to work hard in daily live just wait for the traditional holidays for refreshment and breathing space, they don’t really interest in preparing or enjoying with these holidays. By the statements mentioned above, technology development has helped people learn and understand others cultures more easily, but the traditional holidays are made to be less attractive in the young generations.

Last but not least, it is said that one season is the lack of awareness of these traditional holidays among the young. Obviously, some people disagree with that for they suppose nowadays, it is impossible when people learn traditional holidays of foreign countries easily. It is completely right because thanks to technology development, people around the world can communicate and exchange information with other openly; learn culture of other countries on the Internet or via books, newspapers. However the truth is most young people follow cultural trends in the world without understanding their cultural origin and meaning. It is in many Asia countries, as the countries open more widely to the others in the world, many East cultural holidays, such as Christmas or Halloween day import into the countries. What is mentioning is that a lot of people are interested in these holidays, rather than really understanding about them. Additionally, it is so dangerous that people no longer understand their own traditional holidays fully. For example, it would seem that few Vietnamese people can know full well what Mid-Autumn Festival originate and its meaning. Clearly, when young people don’t know well the cultural significance of these traditional holidays, it is very difficult for them to enjoy and protect them. Therefore, it is so necessary that young generations have to improve their knowledge of cultural holidays of other countries in the world.

Despite significance of culture in referring to lifestyle of a society and sometime representing the best tradition of a country, the traditional holidays become more unpopular among the young generations for rapid development of technology in the last century and the absence of knowledge in traditional culture of their own countries and others as well.