Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendants' past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.

Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case.

Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

In some countries such as UK and Australia, juries cannot get information about the previous life of offender who sue for a case, but some attorneys believes that this process should be changed and the people who judge criminals have a right to know the background of defendant. I strongly claim that jury should know about the past crimes of criminals to deduce a better judgment, and this might be an advantage for petite offenders.

To begin with, if the member of jury know the older crimes of a defender, they will give more accurate decisions. In other words, a best way of knowing or having an opinion about someone is scrutinizing this person past acts and behaviours. For example, according to the FBI reports, psychopathic criminals commit crimes repeatedly, so that if the jury know the offenders who have psychopathic behaviours, they may punish offenders to prevent new crimes. Hence, knowing offenders past may facilitate the judgment of the court.

Furthermore, it is possible that If jury members know much more about the wrongdoers, this situation can be a positive improvement for these people. To put simply, people charging for a crime that was not actually committed by themselves may defend themselves strongly by declaring their clean background. For instance, in behavioural science, a neat physical appearance, a good accent and friendly behaviours impress people in a positive way. Similarly, if an offender has a clean past facts, this condition may affect jury boards positively. Thus, being clean history may be an advantage for offenders.

To conclude, Both in Britain and Australia, jury have not any idea about the previous life of criminals, so a group of lawyers argues that this condition should be altered. In my opinion, the alteration about issue may help jury members for their decision and defendants as well.