Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

University is the entrance of the journey towards higher study so it is expected to have the most brilliant students in the university level. The issue stated that universities should select equal number of boy and girl students in every subject to make a balance co-education in university level. In my opinion, this strategy for selecting students is a horrible idea and I almost disagree to this statement with few facts beside.

First of all, University is the education institute where much more brainstorming is needed comparatively with schools and colleges and there is no evidence for correlating intelligence and gender. So if a university bound to obey the rule that they have to balance the genders then some of the brilliant and deserving students may got eliminated in that process which is clearly not good for a student. In addition, some of the weak and non-deserving students may got chance with the advantage of the poor quota rule. In that case, they may fail in future and that will affect the reputation of the university as well as a great financial loss also. As an illustration, suppose a university has an opening for a department of 30 students only and 100 students applied for that position, among them 15 are female only. In that case, university has to take all those 15 female students without having the chance of evaluate them properly and some of the most deserving candidates may got ejected from the selection process for the ridiculous quota rule and without any hesitation it can be clearly said that the university as well as the non-deserving female students and deserving male students will suffer in future.

Secondly, if this the case, then the students who really deserve the subject in that position may got demotivated and can give up on higher study and that will also be a great loss to the university. Unlike schools and colleges, students of university play a major role in maintaining a reputation of the institute and these kind of loss will surely be a great bad impact on value of the university. For instance, if a quite brilliant and well deserved student got rejected and gave up on study, in that case the society and country will lose a valuable gem for the bad selection process.

On contrast, There are some good points for selecting this kind of admission process specially in the case of third world country because in these countries, people of female gender group hardly get a chance for a higher study. In that kind of situation, this type of selection process may motivate a greater portion of female students which may reduce the gender discrimination in those countries but quota for half of the capacity can not be agreeable at all.

In conclusion, balancing male and female in some subject of a university may bring a good effect of studies but this can not be strict without judging each and every student properly. I think students should judged by their merit, and not by their genders.