Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I do not agree with the idea that Universities should admit same number of girls and boys in every class. Such practices are not only unrealistic and impossible to carry out, but they go also against the basic concept of fairness and equality.

First of all, students should have a right to choose what they would like to study and Universities cannot be expected to put a fetter on such rights of students. In a practical world, people have their own preferences about their future study. For example, in India, many girls would like to study Nursing but this subject is the least preferred among male students. If a University attempts to make a class with equal number of students from both the genders, it will have to deny admission to some of the deserving candidates. I believe that such selection procedure would invite unintended consequences such depression among prospective students.

Secondly, it is unfair for anyone to deny admission in a class based on candidate’s gender. It goes against the principle of equality and discrimination. By doing so, a student may be forced to change his subject. As a result, there is likelihood that many young people are denied education arbitrarily.

Finally, it is morally unacceptable that Universities which teach the principles of fairness and justice should resort to such measures in the matter of admission process. Such practices would lay the wrong foundation in academic sector.

In conclusion, there are number of reasons why I would not agree with the admission process solely based on gender. Being a strong defender of fairness, I would think that academic merit is the only right way to admit students in University.