Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past years, the idea of gender equality have become a subject of increasing concern in the modern society. Many people argue that universities in which should be filled by the same proportions of students in each gender. However, in my opinion, I totally disagree with this idea.

On the one hand, the practice of having the exact 1:1 male-to-female ratio in all academic areas is relatively impossible. In fact, each gender is a natural at different certain fields. Therefore, some professions are dominated by either males or females, it means that it cannot expect to see equal number of students both boys and girls. For example, genetically females have knack for languages, which is a main reason why language lessons attract more number of girls than boys. It is likely that it would be infeasible for tertiary institutions to keep balance in numbers of boys and girls in all courses.

On the other hand, it would be unfair if admission to university courses were based on gender. Universities should continue to select the best candidates according to their qualifications and abilities. It would create equal opportunities for both sexes and they know that they need to work hard and achieve great grades at school to get success. If a female students is the best candidate for a place in a course, it is wrong to reject her in favor of male one with lower grades and fewer qualifications.

In conclusion, I completely disagree with the idea that universities should ensure equal numbers of female and male students in all courses, since it is impossible and discriminated.