Universities should accept equal numbers of men and women in every subject.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Most of the countries are trying to achieve equal rights for both genders, different techniques are introduced to fight inequality. One of prepositions is to accept equal amount of both genders in every subject of higher education institutions. This essay will argue why introduced proposal to have equal numbers of sexes would not change existing situation.

Firstly, people who support idea of equal numbers of both genders in every subject would not influence existing pay gap between men and women. Nowadays in many countries proportionately greater amount of women studies in universities, but women still earn less than man. For example, in Lithuanian universities proportion of men and women studying equals around 60 percent women to 40 percent men. Nevertheless, women are facing “glass ceiling” - very little amount of women are in high positions - in government or having highest leading positions in various companies. In many countries exist even stronger gender gap, the issue is countries attitude towards women.

Secondly, having equal amount of women and men is every subject would make not a natural choices for humans. For a reason, that biologically men and women are different. Women are usually more caring and man takes more risk. For example, this is well illustrated that there is more women working as a nurses and more men choosing to be engineers. People preference what to study can not be mechanically based on quota, that makes little sence to force on people something what does not come naturally.

This essay argued why equal numbers of both genders in each study subject would not help to reach gender equality concept. In my opinion, changes needs to be done systemically and people attitude needs to change towards women.