International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment.

Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Many countries gained a lot from international tourism. Some people are concerned about effect of international tourism to local people and the environment. This essay will discuss what is negative side of international tourism including pollution and good aspects including economical grow.

Most of the people prefer to spend their holidays traveling abroad instead of staying in their own country. Traveling long distances to reach holiday destination causes bigger carbon dioxide emission into atmosphere. For example, taking four hours flight from Norway to Spain causing much more carbon dioxide released into air than if people would be satisfied to spend their holidays in local resort. Moreover, people living in touristic areas are not satisfied about huge amounts of tourist occupying their city. For instance, Venice is one example where tourists took over the city, where is hard to find local person.

On the other hand, touristic places makes a lot of money, especially businesses related with recreation and tourism. This improves local economy and created new jobs. For example, after book release “Eat, pray, love” Bali became one of the main tourist destination. In Bali tourism infrastructure boomed, there were built lot of new hotels, restaurants, also has been created yoga retreat centres. Overall, this brings positive impact on local economy.

In conclusion, tourism improves countries economic situation, but at the same time it disturbs local people lives. I think, people should explore more their own country their own culture, nature before going to other countries. As a consequence, this would lower carbon gas emission and people would create a deeper relationship with own country.