The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, we live in an age when many of us are using social media to communicate instead of using face-to-face interaction. While many people claim that the use of social media has a great deal of positive impact on daily life, I agree that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that online communication contribute to improve human interaction. To start with, thanks to social networking site, people can keep in contact with members in their family, who live in other countries. For example, students who are studying abroad have the ability to keep in touch with our loved ones using Facebook. Moreover, social media has an influence on business. Due to a lot of powerful tools, online meetings of leaders are taken place much easier than traditional meetings.

On the other hand, I personally believe that social media do more harm than good on daily basis. First of all, interacting through computers reduce the quality of interaction which use verbal languages. Since users have a habit of using abbreviated words on social networking site, they are not able to communicate with formal languages.

Another point is that social media has some negative impact on children. These are those who argue that it is necessary for children to learn how to use technological devices. As a result, a great deal of young people are addicted to social media because of the overuse of online conversations. What is more, young children may isolate themselves from real interaction. For instance, instead of making friends at school, children want to have some visual relationships which contain a lot of risks.

In conclusion, although the use of social media has some advantages to human interaction, I believe that the negative effects overweigh the advantages.