The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern society, thanks to the development of cutting-edge technology, humans can utilize it to make their life more convenient in the way they interact with others. However, it is thought that social platforms have been changing direct communication. From my perspective, the merits of this innovation eclipse its demerits.

On the one hand, there are several drawbacks of over depending on social media instead of face-to-face communication. Admittedly, direct communication plays an indispensable role these days. In terms of strengthening human bonds, direct interaction does a favor for the circle of groups, which can grasp an opportunity to share things with their soulmates or their relatives. When it comes to formal meetings or appointments, by interacting with each other in person, each meeting may get a consensus easier. Nevertheless, should these situations happen through media sites such as Facebook or Google meet, the relationship and productivity will be affected. For instance, annual seminars of a school occur online and not all participants engage in these activities resulting in bad output and cannot satisfy the school’s requirements. Besides, some groups of friends do not manage any visit, losing their united relationship.

However, it can not be denied that social media has a huge positive impact on human connections. First, due to the long distance, it is difficult for people to meet their friends or relatives in person. Therefore, a device with an Internet connection has made a chance for to people can engage with each other anytime and anywhere. For example, some students who study abroad can easily see their long-lost families on a smartphone. Additionally, people have been living at a fast pace with a heavy workload, and hardly do some people spending their luxury time face-to-face interaction, so media platforms are useful in this situation. Finally, an emergency meeting of any organization can be held anytime, for example in the evening, thus make an online conversation are imperative.

To conclude, although face-to-face interaction brings numerous advantages, I gravitate towards the benefits of online communication as a result of its role in human relationships and their work.