Water is a natural resource that should always be free. Governments should ban the sale of bottled water. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the water is the gift form the earth as a nature resource, so some may argue the bottled water should be free to us. For my part, I disagree with this view because I believe the water we could buy in the supermarket is not the natural water anymore.

Certainly, the water resources we see such as river, lake or sea is a natural resource, and people have the ownership of that equally since it does not belong to anyone. Even governments do not have the right to allocate the water resources or charge money for the river water or lake water. For instance, the uses of river water are common for the people who live along with a river, which has been used to wash clothes, cook, or other household daily uses.

However, the bottled water is not just one kind of natural resources because it is produced by a series of manufacturing steps, including collecting, cleaning, filtering, packaging and so forth, as the water we buy in the stores is a matured good instead of a raw resource. The price we paid for a bottle of water contains the cost from not only the transport fee of water, but also the money for treatment and package. For example, the bottled water in China sold in a range of prices which depends on the extent to the cleaning process and the package design. Consumers are more likely to purchase the water contains fewer harmful materials and packaged in a beautiful and clean bottle.

In conclusion, the bottled water is not a type of natural stuff, and I therefore disagree with the idea that banning the sale of bottled water.