As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that the aims of companies includes not only making money, but also social responsibilities. While there are several reasons why some people are in favor of the idea, I mostly disagree with it.

When discussing why businesses are supposed to be responsible for the society, different aspects of factors will be mentioned. According to an economic concept - social cost, which means the total cost resulting from a transaction or an activity, the goods or services produced by companies result in individual cost as well as external cost. To be precious, when a shoe factory produces shoes, we should consider not only the obvious cost, such as the price of leather, employers’ salary, rental of land and other expenses, but also the water and air pollution caused by the process of production.

Nonetheless, the negative points of pushing commercial organizations to take social responsibilities should to be taken seriously. Firstly, all the companies have already taken actions for their social responsibilities. They offer the possibilities of jobs for residents and pay taxes to government, which provide citizens with public services and increase the burden on them at the same time. Secondly, with the strong competitiveness at the modern business environment, each business have to stay focused on the most important thing - making profits - to prevent themselves from bankrupt. Luckily, companies have other solutions to make our world better, such as donating money to non-government organizations, especially charity institutions. For example, as we all known, although Bill Gates set up one of the most successful company in the world, Microsoft, he haven’t let Microsoft to be responsible for the society. He chose to start the Gates Foundation to cope with the serious problems human beings faces in the developing countries and regions like Africa and Asia.

After discussing the most pertinent points of this issue, I’m convinced that while companies should concentrate their energy on improving their products and services, they could contribute to letting other professional organization to do the charity.