When a new town is planned, it is more important to develop public parks and sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, the authorities take perspectives into consideration and need to prioritize the erection of varied facilities when planning a new town. From my point of view, it is more essential to build public parks and sports infrastructures than shopping centers.

To begin with, there are a variety of reasons why evolving public parks and sports facilities are vital in a new town's plan. First and foremost, it is true that providing sports equipment is an effective way to improve city dwellers' health and thus reduce the government's budget for medical care in the long term. This might be explained by the fact that, in this day and age, many people live sedentary lifestyles, choosing to watch TV or play video games after work, and collapsing in front of the screen every evening. With easy access to various kinds of sports facilities, they are more likely to make exercise a regular part of their lives. Therefore, they may have to keep their bodies fit and also lighten their moods during the day. Furthermore, the park is also a good place for exercise and playing some team or individual sports such as volleyball or badminton, particularly for those who are not interested in these sports. In a park with high greenery, plants and trees can absorb waste gases and provide green shade, creating a comfortable environment for citizens. Consequently, those who spend leisure time in the park can have closer contact with nature and feel refreshed. Additionally, public parks and gyms can probably lead to a harmonious relationship between residents and their neighbors when they play some sports mentioned earlier and talk together in these places.

By contrast, it can not be denied that developing shopping malls play the same critical role as providing residents with a place to spend their leisure time. In fact, the main function of shopping centers is to allow people to buy various goods or provide some entertainment services in their free time, like cinemas or game centers. However, with the rise of online shopping and several film streaming platforms such as Netflix and Disney+, the role of physical stores appears to be diminishing, coinciding with the gradual decline of traditional entertainment figures. Therefore, large shopping centers can also include some attractive leisure facilities, but these are not as significant as parks and sports centers.

In summary, in the process of urban planning and construction, I believe that building parks and sports facilities should be emphasized rather than shopping centers.