When a new town is planned, it is more important to develop public parks and sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time in. To what extent do agree or disagree?

It is universally acknowledge that the boom of new residential areas nationwide which accompanies a great deal of shopping centers is the prime reason leads to the retrenchment of communal places such as public parks, sports infrastructures and so on. I do not agree with this trend because of some controversial aspects below.

On the one hand, looking at the positive side of shopping centers brings to both individuals and governments. First of all, citizens expose to high quality facilities more easily due to the mushrooming of commercial centers. In the shopping centers encompass a host of supermarket, restaurants or clothing stores that are essential for people in their daily life. Secondly, these centers are likely to bring a substantial contribution to the authorities to enhance the quality of people’s lives. Accommodations perfectly exemplifies this circumstance, if the politicians utilize that amount of tax to back the improvement of their infrastructures, the socio-economic will be enhance extremely.

Turning to the other side of this argument, based on the depletion of public spaces, the community can be jeopardized. Instead of constructing parks or children’s play areas for communal activities, some governments just bypass it and invest in supermalls. There is no doubt that it will pose a devastating threat to the interaction between people especially children is the most vulnerable group because of the lack of physical activities. Additionally, if parks are eliminated, it will wreck the biodiversity and ecosystem of the nations. According to many experts, large parks play a vital role in the metropolises as a sanitation. As a result, it is a useful aid to boosting people’s health.

In conclusion, in spite of the fact that the shopping centers are so crucial, it cannot replace the integral part of open spaces.