Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Today, there has been burgeoning in crime rates around the globe. Some people argue that capital punishment is imperative to deter offenders. However, other people assert that death penalty is not the only solution. I believe that there are alternative methods of fighting crimes that can obviate the need to verdict a capital punishment from the first place.

On one hand, some people think that in the absence of death penalty world would be a dangerous place to live. It is considered a deterrent for criminals that may make them think twice before committing a crime. In addition, by executing the savage criminals, government guarantee the society their safety and not dealing with such criminal again. Take serial killers for example, as such psychotic and disturbed individuals , a lifetime sentence will not be enough to rehabilitate them and probabilities of escaping prison is always present.

On the other hand, other people think that crime preventive measures should be established to obviate the need to capital punishment . Firstly, educating all society members produce oriented individuals with goals to achieve will axiomatically decrease the crime rates. Secondly, involve all society members in community serving festivals, such as planting flowers on the main roads may make individuals feel their importance and belonging to the society. Take Japan for example, as they make pupils to clean their own classrooms as a group. The mass events grow positive feelings regarding society in individuals which may prohibit future crimes.

To conclude, the death penalty may seem the only solution in major and deliberately convicted crimes, but the government should contrive a preventive measures to such crimes.