WRITING TASK 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Men and women are different in terms of their characteristics and abilities. For this reason, some jobs are better done by men and others by women.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

These days, it is becoming increasingly prevalent that females are entering into jobs of the opposite sex and vice versa, which raises concerns about whether or not men and women are excellent at all jobs. Whereas occupational selection regarding gender is justifiable to some degree, it is my belief that both sexes can handle every work effectively.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that not all occupations are compatible for both males and females. For instance, jobs in architecture or in the army that require tremendous physical strength and agility are more likely to be conducted by men. Women, meanwhile, are assumed to be better at caring and nursing due to the patience and meticulousness they possess. Therefore, it would be more efficient if both sexes took on work associated with their disposition.

On the other hand, it is a mistake to base our opinions on conventional ideas about the characteristics of both men and women since such conceptions are often inaccurate. To embark on, although there are certain traits typical of males and vice versa, there are exceptions to every rule. In today’s society, men are showing great interest in childcaring as well as house-related chores, whilst women also have versatility in various jobs (even those requiring both brains and brawn). A salient instance is female gymnasts in Vietnam who participate in different competitions of SEA GAMES and win many medals for the home country. In other words, if women desire to pursue a career of the opposite sex and vice versa, they should be provided with the opportunity to prove themselves capable.

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that although there are some gender-stereotype occupations, I would contend that women and men are equal in all fields nowadays.