WRITING TASK 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task

Write about the following topic:

Fast food is now universally in most countries and is becoming increasingly popular. Some feel that this is a positive trend, while others do not.

What are your opinions in this?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or

experience.

Write at least 250 words.

The past 50 years have witnessed a vast increase in the availability of fast food. Some laud due to its convenience and low cost; however, in this essay, I intend to argue that this phenomenon is detrimental both to humans’ health and to society. There are two primary justifications for this.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that consuming junk food to excess will result in major health problems. Foods such as hamburgers, pizzas, fried chickens which are incredibly high in saturated fats and added sugars are responsible for such ailments as high blood pressure, obesity, cardiovascular diseases and so on. On top of that, although fast food is both affordable and convenient, I would contend that the costs for treating illnesses resulting from it in later life are significant. In other words, while junk food is beneficial in short term, its long-term effects are undesirable.

Further and even more importantly, though, some fast-food chains deliberately attempt to attract children in order to shape their future eating habits. One particularly good example of this is the character Ronald McDonald the bright clothes and smile of the McDonalds clown are a beacon to children. Having grown up eating in McDonalds restaurants, people are likely to continue eating there throughout their adult lives. It is also interesting to note that McDonalds provides playgrounds and frequently holds children’s birthday parties in order to attract young children and their parents.

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that fast food has adverse impacts not only on our health but also on the whole society. Given the risks associated with this trend, I firmly believe that public education concerning healthy dietary patterns would be crucial.