You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In modern times, the issue of environmental problems has become highly controversial. There are those who say that the most important environmental problem is under-threat species, however, others believe that there are more environmental problems which have more importance. In this essay, I will examine the both sides of this issue and provide my overall opinion.

Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why people believe that the under-threat species are the most important environmental problem. Perhaps, the main reason of this idea is that the loss of animal or plant species have led to deforestation. A good illustration of this is that, people from South Africa were face-to-face with scarcity in 1955 and people are still nervous about it. Secondly, loss of species of animals and plants cause to lose other species. Thus, there will be no animal or plant in our world in the future. Unfortunately, human is included in the animal category.

Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that there are more important environmental problems. The strongest argument of this view is that global warming has the most importance. Global warming caused to a wide range of effects on the world and its consequences are potentially serious. The result of global warming is that sea level rise, which in turn leads to a loss of land. Furthermore, the level of air pollution has been rising. This can be led to various effects on human life such as sickness, lung cancer, other types of cancer.

In concusion, it must be said that environmental problems have become a complex issue with no easy solutions. Having considered both sides of the views, I believe quite strongly that there are more important environmental problems such as global warming or air pollution. If we can not protect our world, there will be no appropriate place to live for new generations.