You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the

governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or

disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your

own knowledge and experience.

As the world approaches the Information Age, the scientific investigation is better than any other time. Some individuals insist that scientific exploration should be regulated bu authority instead of private companies. I support this view completely, because the government can also provide ethical and regulatory framework for conducting research.

Transparently, government, controlling scientific research, benefit the development of science because it can provide sufficient financial budget. As evidence of this, the Apollo program is a milestone in human beings' history, for mankind can perform space traveling to the moon. However, during the period of twelve years, this program spend nearly 107 billion the US dollar, so companies cannot bear the huge expense undoubtedly. Based on this fact, were the government not for the incharge of this program, people would never embark on the moon. Therefore, authorities are more likely to play important part in human beings' scientific research.

Furthermore, the authority taking part in scientific research can guarantee scientific activities in the ethical framework because the authority can institute some law to prevent unethical research. For example, genetic technology is not mature, and thus no one can control its experimental result, especially on human beings. To prevent uncertain disaster, the government can cease unethical research.

However, private companies endure the competitive race, so they prefer continuing to explore new technology or novel products. But, in fact, many companies are not patient to promote the scientific revolution or provide fragment research outcomes. By contrast, authority can offer excellent conditions to scientific workers.

To recapitulate, I support government to take part in scientific activities as they can provide financial support and censor the moral standard of science, so it is beneficial to mankind's development of science. In general, private companies can offer limited scientific contribution.