You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the

governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or

disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your

own knowledge and experience.

As the world approaches the Information Age, the scientific level is better than any other time. Some individuals insist that scientific activities should be regulated by authority instead of private companies. I support this view completely, for the government can provide amount of fund firstly, and it can regulate conducting research in the ethical framework secondly.

Transparently, government, controlling scientific research, benefit the development of science because it can provide sufficient financial budget. As an evidence of this, the Apollo program is a milestone of human beings' history, for mankind can perform space traveling to moon. However, during the period of twelve years, this program spend nearly 107 billion the US dollar, so companies can not bear the huge expense undoubtedly. Based on this fact, if government were not leadership of this program, people would never embark on moon. Therefore, government play an important part in human beings' scientific research.

Furthermore, the authority taking part in academic research is able to guarantee scientific activities in the ethical framework because the authority can institute some law to prevent unethical research. For example, genetic technology is not mature, and thus no one can control its experimental result, especially researching on human beings. To prevent uncertain disaster, the government can cease unethical research, if it has taken part the research.

However, private companies endure the competitive race admittedly, so they prefer continuing to explore new technology or novel products. But, in fact, many companies are not patient to promote the scientific revolution or provide fragment research outcomes. Today's scientific level is better than any other time, because authority can provide excellent conditions for scientific workers.

To recapitulate, I supports government to take part in scientific activities. Government provide amount of financial supports and censor the moral standard of science, so it benefit mankind's development of science. In general, private companies can provide limit scientific contribution.