Youngsters now admire and imitate media and sports personalities even though they do not always set a good example. Do you think that this is a positive or negative development?

Your essay should be about 300 to 350 words.

In recent times, the youth is having an exceeding adulation and even go so far as to pattern themselves on the popular people of the media and sports, who sometimes bring negative influences. Even though this phenomenon could generate a number of unfavourable impacts, I deem that most youngsters can benefit from a moderate fondness for such individuals.

On one side of the argument, youngsters are prone to endure great disappointment born from the fact that their idols are not commensurate with their expectations. Undue admiration often induces youngsters to have a relatively idealistic picture of their models. More precisely, in the eyes of these avid fans, their admired ones are always flawless as well as well-rounded individuals who would never commit a mistake. A direct result of this is that when scandals related to these stars are exposed, the enthusiastic fans become inevitably disheartened by the grave disappointment. In some cases, overzealous admirers may even go to extreme lengths to relieve their emotions, for instance, taking a revenge on the idols or starting to develop a cynical mentality of people.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned drawbacks, admiration at a moderate level can be meritable to the youth mentally and physically. The most far-reaching influence of public figures, be it in the media and sports, is that they can be a source of motivation. Their inspiring stories like how sports stars’ consistent training and strong will-power so as to accomplish their goals can provide an incentive for their followers to put in an effort and persevere to achieve their goals. A collateral benefit from this is that youngsters might undergo changes in terms of lifestyle and routine. For example, influencers who are famous for their fashion and healthy lifestyle can alter many teenager's choices of clothes or encourage them to adopt a new routine. Another case in point is that the young generation will start to exercise to copy their sports role model’ routine to keep fit.

In conclusion, while excessive adoration for media and sports figures can do more harm than good, I believe that in most cases, youngsters who possess a moderate admiration can be advantageously influenced in many ways.