16.10.2017

Some people think that managers alone should make decisions in the company, while others think that employees should be involved in the decision-making process too. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many aver decision-making ought to be done solely by management; while others claim involving workers in the process could be advantageous as well. Below both prospects will be discussed in details and author’s opinion will be given.

On the one hand, analysis of information and the process of making a decision must be fulfilled by professionals. Firstly, managers acquire appropriate education in finances, economics and have skills of working with data that were forged while studying at University. Thus, those highly prepared and well-read individuals should be responsible for making difficult and challenging decisions. Secondly, those who work in the management positions have access to firm’s secrets and closed information that, by definition, is not available to outsiders due to dangerous consequences of handling the sensitive papers into wrong hands. So, only managers possess sufficient information to make right decisions. Those are a couple of facts that buttress the first point of view.

On the other hand, a participation of employees in decision-making could bring some fruits. Primarily, workers that feel control over company’s policy are more motivated to work harder and more productive than those who are separated from the crucial process. A sociological research carried out in the UK in the 1980s showcased employees' productivity may skyrocket up to 146 percent if the staff have a word in making decisions. Furthermore, some resolutions may be concerned the manufacturing process about which CEO and other managers likely have a vague understanding. Allowing personnel to speak up their opinions about such issues will probably make the decisions more efficient and thoughtful. Those are several benefits of employees’ participating in shaping company’s choices.

In my opinion, the majority of strategical decisions must be done by a management group that has all needed data and knacks to foresee the future turns in development of markets. However, including personnel in making decisions about work process can encourage the staff to work more vigorously and increase business effectiveness.