18 10 2017 A recent study showed that both developing and developed countries prosper because of the economic growth People from developing countries are happier than before while people from developed countries are not as happy as they were in the past

Current research models have found out that between developed and developing countries exists not only an economic gap but also an emotional one. Although it can sound a bit weird and illogical, happiness seems to be a feeling present more in developing countries than in the wealthy ones. The reason of this paradox roots in several grounds, which range from the idea of happiness itself to the specific conditions of each country. First of all, the concept of happiness is hard to define. Generally speaking, happiness is a feeling that life is good, that our sorroundings are a bit brighter than usual and that we are in harmony with friends and family. For our ancestors, being happy was not a priority. While the concept of happiness has been around for thousands of years, we humans were simply struggling to survive. Quality of life was a luxury. Today, though, most of us regard happiness as something we have a right to, and therefore something to be actively pursued.

As we can see, defining happiness is not that easy. Many ingredients play a role in the pursuing of happiness and being wealhty is just one of them. For some people money does not even make happy at all. It is no surprise thus that surveys have showed that happiness is more likely to be found in poor countries than in the rich ones. Whether living in a prosperous country actually makes people happier is still up for debate and think that other aspects should be taken into account when speaking of happiness. A widely accepted idea of developing countries, tend to depict them as natural paradises with lush forests, clear rivers and white beaches. Local people are usually friendly and do not have to deal with stress, pollution, lack of human touch, traffic jam and a fast-paced life. Although this could be an optimistic description of a developing country, there are some clues of truth that we should consider. First, the landscape has its influence on our mood so that living in a sunny, warm country would be more delightful than spending a whole life in a cold and rainy city. Second,life in developed countries has become more and more demanding in term of performance and knowledge, so that employees are usually more under pressure than they were in the past. Tird, technology has in some cases taken over personal interactions, which leads to a lack of human touch and misunderstandings.

To conclude, from my point of view there is no surprise that people in developing countries might be happier than citizens living in the wealthy nations, because there are uncountable factors that should be considered when it comes to speaking about happiness. Social life, personal interactions, friendships, stress are perhaps more important than money alone.