The threat of nuclear weapons maintains the world peace Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy The benefits of nuclear technology far out weight the disadvantages

Sadly linked to disaster, death, and destruction nuclear energy offers indeed a multitude of positive sides. However contradictory, the threat of a nuclear holocaust has been guaranteeing global peace for more since the end of World War II. Moreover, in its constant search for clean and reliable energy sources, mankind has turned to nuclear power plants. Unfortunately, improper use of nuclear plants has caused dreadful disasters, whose terrible consequences have urged governments to shut down most of the nuclear facilities still in use. The aim of this essay is thus to weigh the pros and cons of this type of energy and explain why nuclear energy can still play a major role at a time when energy efficiency is a priority.

Maybe no other words like nuclear generate an eerie feeling in some minds. It is no surprise that many people associate this adjective to something dangerous, if not lethal. The atomic bombs on Japan have showed the world the devastating potential of nuclear fission.

In 1945, World War II, was finally drawing to a close. After years of bloodshed the Americans were determined to defeat Japan and developed the most powerful weapon ever made. After the drop of the bombs, Japan immediately surrendered putting an end to the most bloody conflict in the history of mankind. Yet, according to large part of the historians, the drop of the atomic bombs by the USA had a second, hidden aim. By dropping the bomb, the USA sent a message to other countries around the world that the planet had entered a new age of technology capable to wipe out lives in a matter of seconds. Over the ensuing years nuclear weapons were a consistent part of the Soviet and American arsenal. With one single strike those tow countries were able to annihilate each other and the whole planet. Maybe for this reason nobody has witnessed a third global conflict. Having missiles with nuclear warheads pointing at each other, was an excellent deterrent against declaring war. Ultimately, the fear of a nuclear war has turned to be more efficient than political actions.

Moving on from the military applications, nuclear power has been for many years a reliable and clean alternative to fossil fuels. Even if marred by catastrophic incidents like Chernobyl and Fukushima, this type of energy has in truth beneficial traits. It produces no air pollution and can provide energy for hundreds of thousands without exploiting natural resources. The disasters related to nuclear energy root mostly in lack of preparation and failure in control systems. If properly used, nuclear energy can be the key to supply energy for a planet which is facing the challenge to feed eight million individuals.

From the facts mentioned above, it is easy to conclude that nuclear energy has not the potential to meet the energetic demand of a steady growing world population but also to guarantee peace among nations. Sooner or later fossil fuels will run out and humans will have to find out an affordable and efficient form energy to power houses, engines, and factories. Nuclear energy should be therefore taken into account as a suitable candidate to accomplish this decisive task.