Since the 18th century technological advances have replaced people in the workplace. With today’s technology this process is happening at a greater rate. Technology is increasingly responsible for unemployment.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that due to advancement in technology, there is a detrimental impact on employment rate. I completely agree that as there would be increase in technology in coming future, unemployment rate would be on higher rate.

There are several reasons why there is growth in unemployment as opposed to technology. Firstly, many organisations implement robots to work in there industries, as their rate of working speed is higher than any of the human beings. Secondly, nowadays, in many of the places, there are vending machines for food outlets and kiosk for ticket bookings. So most of the companies prefer to install this machines to provide hassle free services to the customer and due to this upgrade method, organisations prefer to keep limited number of employees. For example, nowadays in financial institutions, they provide lobby banking for 24*7 service to their guests with less number of staff.

On the other hand, there are negative effects which could be seen on those organizations who highly depend on the advancement of technology. To operate or maintain this machines, there could be a need of people. In todays world, there are people who are not well versed with this advancement and prefer human interaction. For example, there are banking institutions which has started IVR for their phone banking customers, but there are option to have word with customer representative and most of them prefer to speak with them.

To sum up, I agree that as there is increase in technology and more invention in future, the unemployment rate could be on higher side.