All cars that burn fossil fuels should be banned and electric cars should replace them. Do you agree or disagree?

Since they were invented, motorised vehicles have been massive guzzlers of fossil fuels. This is why their production should be stopped and electric vehicles should replace them. I agree with the following statement because not only do electric vehicles cause zero exhaust emissions but they are also cheaper to run and maintain at the same time.

The reason why electric vehicles are called so is because they run on a rechargeable battery.Every time the battery is near depletion all that has to be done is to recharge it, just like we recharge our mobile phones. Since they don’t use fossil fuels for energy there are no engines and as a result no combustion that takes place resulting in zero emissions. This is very similar to that of a child's toy which would also run on batteries.

The running expenditure and the upkeep of motorised vehicles is also very high when compared to electric vehicles. Due to it being a limited resource the costs of petrol have only risen over the years showing no signs of stopping. Every trip to the gas station is an additional expenditure compared to the almost negligible cost of recharging a battery operated car. An engine comprises of several smaller components which may need to be serviced or changed over a period of time which involves time and cost. Since they don’t have an engine, electric vehicles also have lesser wear and tear which falls cheaper in the long run.

Hence as summarised in the above arguments, I believe that it’s only in the interest of the society at large that vehicles which run on fossil fuels should be quickly phased out and electric vehicles should take over.