Wealthy nations should assist poorer countries with humanitarian relief during natural disasters. Do you agree or disagree.

It is argued that the developed world should help developing nations with important resources during a natural calamity. This essay agrees with this statement because it’s their moral responsibility to do so and they also have the resources available to help others in time of need.

It is the moral responsibility of the developed nations to give back what they have amassed through lies and deceit over centuries. Most of these nations have reached where they are today because of the ample wealth and natural resources they looted from their colonies for centuries. One of the main reasons why European nations started searching for conquerable land was because they had run out of gold and were overpopulated. Once this planned and effective means of looting another land in a systematic way got going, the European nations never looked back. A recent study found that in the 200 years that the British East India Company ruled over India, they amassed approximately 45 Trillion Dollars worth of wealth.

Developed nations also have access to important life saving resources and technology. During any calamity or a disaster there are various kinds of help that the affected community might need. They might need expert guidance on disaster management, or they might need life saving drugs and doctors who have been trained in techniques to work in affected areas or they just might need food and other basic necessities. A poor nation might not have access to all these important resources readily, and even if they do they might not be enough. Since wealthy countries already have access to all of these it just makes sense to share it with others in their time of need. For example The Dutch Earthquake Relief Team helped saved approximately 2000 lives during the 2001 earthquake in Gujarat, India.

In conclusion, during a natural calamity when poorer nations won’t be able to fend for themselves it is the moral obligation of the rich countries to help them because they have the scientific expertise and resources to be able to do so.