Without capital punishment, our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. What is your standpoint?

Capital punishment or the death penalty is strictest form of judgement practiced by almost all countries over the world. It’s usually given to criminals who have committed extreme acts of crime, like murder. I personally feel that it’s necessary that such a law should exist, but only if it’s carried out under extreme circumstances.

The mere presence of capital punishment is to induce fear in the minds of people about to commit a crime. But at the same time the number of such punishments given to criminals over the world hasn’t decreased over the years.

One might argue that in certain developed countries the number has decreased, but at the same time it has risen considerably in other places. A person who’s about to commit a crime might not necessary think about what will happen if they are caught. In all probability they mostly think that they are going to get away with it, as is the thought process of most criminals.

However, there might be situations when a person commit’s a horrific crime in all his senses and aware of what the percussions might be. Such a blatant disregard of the law must not be overlooked, and depending upon the severity of the situation the capital punishment should or should not be given.

Although some countries carry out capital punishments in public eye, to make the people feel they’re also a part of dispensing justice.