Artificial intelligence will soon replace teachers in the classroom. Do you agree with this statement? What is an alternative to traditional face to face teaching?

it is argued that the teaching profession will soon become obsolete because it will be overtaken by artificial intelligence. This essay disagrees with this statement because teaching requires a certain level of human intervention and advancements in technology can only aid teachers in their profession and not take their place.

Becoming a teacher is supposed to be one of the noblest professions of all. The purpose of the teaching profession is not dissemination of information in a classroom. They are also looked upon as caretakers and people with wisdom who guide each and every child as he/she goes through different stages of learning. One child may differ from the other as every child has a different temperament, and to deal with that, the teacher may have to get involved at an intricate level after understanding the child’s needs. Artificial intelligence can only spread information in a classroom, it cannot understand the psychology of the child. In a recent survey of high school kids, it was found that an astonishing 98% of them preferred human teachers to robots. This only proves that machines can give information but not not empathise and share wisdom.

Innovations in technology have given students many opportunities and arenas to learn from and participate in. Though physical teaching still counts for most part of traditional learning atmospheres, digital or online learning is soon becoming a major trend. One can be sitting in India and learn from a recorded online video of a teacher in the United States which was not possible until a few years ago. People all over the wold have seized this moment and have taken to online learning with great zest. Though this still is face to face, but through a digital medium.

In conclusion, though artificial intelligence has taken commendable strides in the area of teaching it can never become a substitute to actual human teachers. There is a sense of responsibility and pride which comes with the profession of teaching and that cannot be entrusted upon a machine.